Menu Search Icon Mail Icon
Davis Saperstein & Salomon
Call Today 201-907-5000
No fee if no recovery
All consultations are free

Workers’ Compensation

In New Jersey, a worker who is injured on the job is entitled to worker’s compensation benefits irregardless of fault or cause. Benefits are payable to the worker even if he caused the accident.

Workers’ Compensation is a statutory method of providing benefits to employees for injuries or occupational diseases that arise out of and in the course of the employee’s work for the employer. The New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Act provides certain remedies to the injured worker and his/her dependents (in the case of death). These benefits are ordinarily payable to the injured worker or his dependents regardless of the “worker’s fault” in causing or contributing to the accident. The Act also generally provides an exclusive remedy to the employee. Therefore, an injured worker generally cannot sue the employer for the work injury. His/her only remedy would be workers compensation.

The Workers’ Compensation Act provides three basic benefits to an injured worker:

  • Hospital and medical treatment
  • Temporary disability benefits
  • Permanency award (when applicable)

Prior to receiving these benefits, the injured employee must notify the employer of his/her work-related accident. This very brief overview only touches the surface of workers’ compensation law. To discuss workers compensation in depth, contact our experienced lawyers today. We will answer all of your workers’ compensation questions during your free consultation.

Please read our Worker’s Compensation Newsletter for more informative information.

Share This Page:
Davis, Saperstein & Salomon, P.C., is located in Teaneck NJ and serves clients in and around Teaneck, Hackensack, Bergenfield, Tenafly, Englewood, New Milford, Palisades Park, Englewood Cliffs, Dumont, River Edge, Demarest, Haworth, Oradell, Leonia, Bogota, Maywood, Closter, Alpine, Emerson, Fort Lee, Ridgefield Park, Little Ferry, Bergen County, Hudson County and Passaic County.
Designed and Powered by NextClient

© 2024 Davis, Saperstein & Salomon, P.C. All rights reserved. Custom WebShop™ law firm website design by